Sleeping Through the Night

Against everything I thought I was doing right.

Listening to Tears

Image

When my daughter Ruby didn’t sleep through the night, I wasn’t really looking for a solution, I didn’t like the concept of sleep training. Ruby and I co-slept so when she woke it was easy simply to just feed her and then fall back to sleep. I was still getting my full eight hours with a few short interruptions. I assumed that she would sleep through the night eventually.

But after eight months, nothing was changing. I started to wonder why she was waking more than she did as a newborn. When I fed her she didn’t seem that hungry, and just sucked for a minute or two before falling asleep again. I read about sleep cycles, and how a baby needed a way to soothe herself back to sleep. It made sense that other babies were self-soothing back to sleep with their thumbs or a dummy, whereas I was…

View original post 1,924 more words

Leave a Reply

